Hiroshi Sugimoto

31May11

I had the opportunity to attend the Hong Kong Art Fair last week.  It was great spending time around so much artwork. It’s impossible to avoid interesting conversations with that much catalyst around you. One of my favorite photographers was quite well represented there. Particularly his Theatre Series. So, here are some examples.  Below is a quote from Sugimoto explaining his series.

“I’m a habitual self-interlocutor. Around the time I started photographing at the Natural History Museum, one evening I had a near-hallucinatory vision. The question-and-answer session that led up to this vision went something like this: Suppose you shoot a whole movie in a single frame? And the answer: You get a shining screen. Immediately I sprang into action, experimenting toward realizing this vision. Dressed up as a tourist, I walked into a cheap cinema in the East Village with a large-format camera. As soon as the movie started, I fixed the shutter at a wide-open aperture, and two hours later when the movie finished, I clicked the shutter closed. That evening, I developed the film, and the vision exploded behind my eyes.”

One Response to “Hiroshi Sugimoto”

  1. 1 jasonschlabach

    Yeah, these were super nice. Glad to see you’re a fan too.


Leave a Reply

